Late Night Packing, Truck Loading, and trip to the Zoo (House)

Kim and were up into the wee hours of Friday night-Sunday morning, trying to pack everything as efficiently as possible. We weren’t sure if our belongings would all fit into a 12ft. Penske Truck. After a few hours of sleep, we woke up at 7:00, disassembled the bed, and took our last (for a while at least) Metro ride to grab the truck. Luckily, we scored a next-to-new rental that steers more like an SUV than a 30 ft. RV.

We loaded everything  by 2:00 pm, and were pleasantly surprised to find out that we had more than enough cargo room. We met with our landlord for the first time since the day we signed out lease when he showed up to inspect the places and give us back our security deposit. Thanks John! Kim’s friend Shelley and her boyfriend Tom, immediately began moving in to start their tenure in the Tress House apartment. Kim and I lingered a few seconds to say goodbye to what we saw as the perfect apartment.

I look into the old aprtment...This is wheeere we used to live...

We then drove the truck over to our old apartment, a four bedroom house down the road in Woodley Park where out old roommates and good friends Ryan and Dave were holding an epic pool party. I live band played funk, soul, and rock classics from the living room, blaring heavy bass and wah-wah guitar riffs through the french doors leading out to the pool. The USA v. England World Cup pool play matchup was project onto a sheet on the side of the house. Dave estimated that 90 guests had visited the “Zoo House” over the course of the party. I was happy that I no longer lived there.

The most thunderous of jams

I relaxed my aching back by reclining on a pool float for a few minutes. Then for old time’s sake, I threw down a few last thunderous jams at the pool basketball net.  After a couple hours, we begrudgingly said our goodbyes, and started out for PA.

We made it home in the usual time, had a light dinner, and toured the home improvements my parents had made in effort to prep the homestead for sale. I’ll elaborate more tomorrow, because I’ve got a long day of driving tomorrow (Toledo, here we come!), and I’m in desperate need of sleep. All-in-all, a fine start to the road trip. Phase 1, complete!

Leave a comment